Home Forums Podcast supporters Sex At Dawn + Civilised To Death = Now What?

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      Roman RussoRoman Russo
      Participant

“What is your most recommended book, besides your own” asks Tim Ferris in his podcasts. My answer is:

1. both books by Christopher Ryan
      2. Science of Enlightenment by Shinzen Young
      3. The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

Thanks Chris!

Still, my #1 most recommended books left with an open question: yes, this is the current state of affairs, but now what? Chris himself gives some ideas for what a solution could be, but he (purposefully) keeps the question open.

My personal answer to this question is one word: Happiness. Alright, all cards on the table, I am an author and I write on the topic of happiness. My book is called Optimal Happiness (sorry for some shameless promotion). But how is happiness relevant to the “now what” question? Happy people are more altruistic, egalitarian, they are more interested in the happiness of others, conscious in terms of what they do, eat, and buy, and they don’t consume for pleasure, at least not as much. Simply, if there is a closer modern forager lifestyle it is ” being happy”.

Unbelievable? Yes, but so are the books by Christopher Ryan. Possible? Definitely. Intriguing? I hope so.

Greetings,
      Roman Russo

Participant

I didn’t write a book, so I can’t answer your question πŸ˜€

Hearing the word happiness, philosopher Slavoj Zizek always comes to mind. Here’s a quote:

β€œHappiness was never important. The problem is that we don’t know what we really want. What makes us happy is not to get what we want. But to dream about it. Happiness is for opportunists. So I think that the only life of deep satisfaction is a life of eternal struggle, especially struggle with oneself. If you want to remain happy, just remain stupid. Authentic masters are never happy; happiness is a category of slaves.”